What is the difference between Camera Roll and Photo Stream?
The Photo Stream photos are transient copies of the photos in your Camera Roll; photos older than 30 days will be deleted, and if you have more than 1000 photos the oldest will be removed to make space for new ones. … You can choose to download all of your photos from My Photo Stream to your Mac and PC automatically.
What happens when you turn off Photo Stream?
If you disable My Photo Stream, it will remove synced photos on the device you’re currently using. However, the platform won’t automatically delete those images. They’ll still be on the devices that uploaded them to My Photo Stream.
What is the difference between photo stream and iCloud photo library?
iCloud Photos stores all your photos as long as you have sufficient space. When you edit a photo while using My Photo Stream, the edits apply only to the photo you edited, not to versions synced with other devices. With iCloud Photos, all edits you make—on any of your devices—sync to all the rest of your devices.
Should I use Photo Stream?
My Photo Stream only gives you access to your most recent 1,000 photos (or the past 30 days) across your devices. Do you have the lowest tier iCloud storage? – If you’re still using up less than 5GB of iCloud storage and don’t ever want to pay even $0.99 per month for more, you should stick with My Photo Stream.
Can I delete Photo Stream and keep camera roll?
When you delete a photo from My Photo Stream, it deletes from the My Photo Stream view on all of your devices after you connect each device to Wi-Fi or Ethernet. … These photos won’t delete when you remove photos from My Photo Stream: Photos that you copied to the Photos tab or Camera Roll on your iOS device.
Why do photos stay in camera roll?
This is because the albums in the Photos app (both smart albums and user-created albums) do not physically contain any photos. All photos are physically kept in the Camera Roll only (this is also why Apple renamed it a few versions ago to “All photos”). The smart albums can be regarded as automatic Camera Roll filters.
What happens if I turn off Photo Stream on my iPhone?
What happens to your photos if you turn off My Photo Stream. Before you turn off My Photo Stream, save any photos that you want to keep on your device. If you sign out of iCloud or turn off My Photo Stream on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, all of the photos in the My Photo Stream album are removed from that device.
Does my photo stream use iPhone storage?
The good news about both My Photo Stream and your Shared Photo Streams is that it does not count against your iCloud storage quota. The downside is that this takes up additional storage space on all of your devices, including the device you took the photos with.
What happens if I turn off iCloud photos?
If you turn off iCloud Photo stream on the device, Photo stream, and the images in the stream folder, are removed from the device, BUT NOT FROM iCloud. … When you turn off icloud photo’s (complete) you have 30 days to download the photo’s on iOS, Mac, Windows, or via icloud.com, but this feature is still in beta.
Why are not all my photos on iCloud?
Another common reason for items not being uploaded to iCloud is a lack of storage. Apple gives every user 5GB for free, but if you take a lot of photographs then this can quickly fill up. To check your current usage, open the Settings app, tap on your account name, then select iCloud.
Do photos stay on iCloud if deleted from phone?
Usually, your iPhone automatically backs up to your iCloud account, and if you delete photos from your iPhone, they’ll also be deleted from your iCloud. To get around this, you can turn off iCloud photo sharing, sign in to a different iCloud account, or use a cloud server other than iCloud for photo sharing.
How does Apple Photo Stream work?
My Photo Stream automatically uploads your most recent photos to iCloud, so you can see them on devices that aren’t using iCloud Photos. … (My Photo Stream doesn’t upload Live Photos or videos.) You must be signed in on all devices using the same Apple ID.
How long do photos stay in iCloud?
for 30 days
Can my family see my iCloud photos?
Yes. You are only sharing the storage for them, not the photo libraries themselves. Other people in the group cannot access iCloud Photo Libraries from other members in the family group.